Today we are celebrating the recognition of our Special Counsel Matt Floro as the 2022 Mahla Pearlman Australian Young Environmental Lawyer of the Year.

As Special Counsel in our Safe Climate team, Matt has had carriage of a series of our leading-edge climate law cases, including:

  • our historic win which changed the legal landscape on climate in Australia, where the court found the NSW EPA has a duty to protect NSW communities from climate impacts;
  • our successful High Court challenge, which after seven years of legal actions saw the protection of the pristine Bylong Valley from a massive new coal mine, and;
  • our landmark victory with the refusal of the proposed Rocky Hill coal mine, which was the first time an Australian court refused consent to a fossil fuel development partly on the basis of greenhouse gas emissions and climate impacts.

“We are thrilled to see Matt acknowledged in this way. It is a privilege to have Matt as part of our EDO Climate team, and this award is richly-deserved recognition of his passion, expertise and impact,” EDO CEO David Morris said.

The Mahla Pearlman Award is named in honour of the former Chief Judge of the Land and Environment Court of New South Wales, and former President of the Law Council of Australia, the late honourable Mahla Pearlman AO.

The recipient is a young lawyer who has made a significant contribution to environmental law and to the legal and wider community. The award is conducted annually by the Australian Environment and Planning Law Group of the Law Council of Australia’s Legal Practice Section.

Congratulations Matt!

Matt Floro – EDO Special Counsel and 2022 Mahla Pearlman Australian Young Environmental Lawyer of the Year