EDO’s Special Counsel Brendan Dobbie has been honoured as 2021 Lawyer of the Year for his work in Climate Change Law in Sydney, in the Best Lawyers in Australia guide.

Only a single lawyer in each practice area and community is awarded this accolade. Several other EDO lawyers have also been recognised amongst the nation’s best, with Rachel Walmsley, Director Policy and Law Reform, Sydney, and Sean Ryan, Principal Solicitor, Brisbane, named in the Climate Change field, Special Counsel Emma Carmody listed in Water Law and Planning and Environmental Law, and Elaine Johnson, Principal Solicitor Sydney, and again Sean Ryan named Best Lawyers in Planning and Environmental Law.

Best Lawyers is the oldest and most respected peer review publication in the legal profession. Acknowledgement in the publication is a significant honour and the EDO is among the few non-corporate firms to be represented.

“We are thrilled to see our dedicated lawyers acknowledged in this way”, said David Morris, EDO CEO.

“I particularly congratulate Brendan Dobbie on the well-deserved recognition as Lawyer of the Year in Climate Change Law. We will be seeing more from Brendan in this field in the coming months.

“These Best Lawyers results demonstrate that the expertise of our lawyers is on a par with Australia’s top legal firms. Our clients and supporters know they can trust EDO lawyers to provide advice and legal assistance of the highest level. To have five lawyers honoured provides independent recognition of our nation-leading public interest practice and the high esteem our lawyers enjoy within the Australian legal profession.

“This peer recognition just reflects the trust our clients place in us and demonstrates the highest level of expertise, accompanied by a passion for the environment, typical of all our staff. I offer my sincere congratulations to Brendan, Emma, Rachel, Sean and Elaine for the well-deserved recognition.”

EDO Lawyers on the 2021 Best Lawyers List L-R: Emma Carmody, Rachel Walmsley, Brendan Dobbie, Elaine Johnson, Sean Ryan